Exercise – Blog 4

Another thing that is a great stress reliever is exercise. A lot of people claim to not have time to go to the gym or go for a run, but I would highly recommend it. Exercise reduces stress by an amazing amount. “Scientists have found that regular participation in aerobic exercise has been shown to decrease overall levels of tension, elevate and stabilize mood, improve sleep, and improve self-esteem. About five minutes of aerobic exercise can begin to stimulate anti-anxiety effects” (Otto, 2011). If only five minutes starts reducing stress, just imagine what an hour would do.

Application
It was not until University that I decided to give the whole gym thing a try. When I went to university last year we were given a free membership. My roommate went to the gym almost every day to reduce her stress. There was one afternoon that I was feeling overwhelmed with my work load and she invited me along with her. I decided to give it a go because I did not see anything else helping me at that time.
When I got there, I did her work out with her and ended up really enjoying it. I was happier, calmer, and just happier in general. When I got back to my room I was much more positive about the situation and I was a lot more focused. I finished my work that day and had never felt better about myself and my work ethic.

Before and After
Before university I never really took the time to exercise because I was always a busy kid. It never was important to me because I could keep up to everyone in gym class, I have always been smaller, and I just never used to have the time to do so. Even before I did this project I was not aware of how great the results of exercising to reduce stress were. Now that I do, I make sure to go to the gym at least four times a week or whenever I feel stressed.

References

Otto, M. (2011, September 14). Exercise for Stress and Anxiety | Anxiety and Depression Association of America, ADAA. Retrieved November 23, 2015, from http://www.adaa.org/living-with-anxiety/managing-anxiety/exercise-stress-and-anxiety

Leave a Reply

